Les Misérables: Fight for the People

Cossete

Les Misérables is an incredible movie, a must see for everyone on planet earth. The French have been a hot topic in my History and English class as a sophomore. We read books and stories about the countries history. I am very intrigued by the French  Revolutions and would like to share some analysis with you.This story is probably the best one.

Relationship to History

            We hear of General Lamarque in the movie but we do not actually see him. He is a non-fictional character that many revolutionary groups followed during this time. General Lamarque was a general under Napoleon who was then a member of France’s parliament. He was a supporter of republican ideologies, so he gained the support of the French revolutionaries. Lamarque died, which is said to be because of government poisoning the water, which caused many popular politicians to die.

An event in the movie that could be closely related to a historical event is when the revolution began during a “parade” (is what I thought it was.) On page 682 in my history text book it says, “In July 1832, (this date was the same as in the movie) an uprising occurred in Paris during the funeral of a popular Napoleonic general.” This may be a funeral for general Lamarque, I am almost positive of that. I think this event in the movie is the same as the one in my text book because in the movie there is a silent procession and then the rebellion happens. From these explained events, you can see that the movies ties in with my history course.

Evaluation

I really enjoyed watching this movie. It was an amazing film, with great music, acting, and historical connections. The film was based off of Victor Hugo’s novel, and I think Tom Hooper did an amazing job directing the movie. I think they could have made the film a little bit more fluid. Some of the transitions from scene to scene were a little bit rough. If they had transitions, kind of like a bridge in a music piece the scenes would have melded together a lot better. I do not think any of the actors did a bad job. In my opinion every single important character did amazing in their part and had great singing voices. This factor is what made the movie so great. I think the plots speed was just perfect, I had no trouble understanding what was going on. (Except for the scene transition issue I talked about earlier.) I think that putting Liam Neeson in the movie as general Lamarque would have made the movie the slightest bit cooler than it already is. I think that the director didn’t show Lamarque in the movie because he wanted the audience to think more about what was happening in the revolution, and make a historical connection as I did above. I would definitely recommend this movie to another student because it embodies so much content that we covered in class, and is a beautiful display of a historical time period.

Historical Accuracy

            The movie shows little historical pieces in the movie that I noticed which made me really happy. They show how they ate rats, horses, cats, etc. I also saw The Elephant of the Bastille, the idea made by Napoleon to show his power and significance. Gavroche used this as his shelter in the movie which added a little bit of comedy to the movie when you see his little head pop out of the hole in the top. I also saw the tricolor flag multiple times and little pins they wore to show they are rebels. The pins could have a connection to phyrigan caps. I also noticed how they called the young rebels “students” the producers or Victor Hugo could have been showing a connection between the Burchenshaften in Germany with the rebels in France. I also noticed the funeral parade connection which I mentioned above in the Relationship to History section.

Leave a Reply

