A World Where Someone Hands You a Microphone and Says “Speak Up”

 

francis-albert-sinatra-154892_150

Sitting on my bed listening to a podcast where Seth Godin speaks about many points can be enlightening. Going into it I was not sure what to expect, and why we had to listen to this podcast in particular, but now I understand why. His points, morals, theories, and beliefs all can relate to what we/I do  in English class,

The title of this post was something said by Godin during his interview, and i believe i possess this quality in class. We live in a world where young adults have a voice. The Microphone, as I see it, is being handed to me from Mr. Ziebarth, and i utilize this microphone by posting on both of my blogs, discussing underlying ideas in class with my peers, and writing essays every week. What i like about the class is that its very opinionated. You can write about whatever you want, say whatever you want, as long as it is appropriate. Excelling at “out there” ideas and good essays and blog posts comes with a cost, which brings me to my next point. Godin stated at one point that repetitive failure will lead to success. I have failed countless times in Mr. Z’s class, especially on the morphemes. Progressing through the semester, I know I have had a huge turn around in effort, and work completion, I am living evidence of his point. I succeed greatly now, and feel like I have showed huge improvements.

The point of Failure will lead to success however is not all fun and games This point Interests me the most, and tugs on the many strings in my mind. You still have to work , and push at everything you do in life. Even though I know I have succeeded in the past month or two, I need to keep it up. I do need to work on something that was powerful. He said that you need to take bigger risks, and make more mistakes to make a bigger impact. I don’t really raise my hand a lot in class, I don’t know why. Maybe it’s because I’m the Jock in the class who’s bound to say something dumb, but that doesn’t matter. I need to adopt these principals and take bigger risks to make a large impact on the class. If i can do that, My improvement will be huge.

I disagreed with few of Godin’s points. The only one I was skeptical about was the things he had to say about tribes. No, I don’t believe you can fly across the world to find someone who acts, and talks, and understands you completely. Thats the beauty of humanity. everyone is different.

Overall, Godin’s interview was inspirational. I’m glad I had a chance to listen to it

 

-Connor. . .

Leave a Reply

